How much does ServiceM8 cost in the UK?
ServiceM8 charges by how many jobs you complete each month, not by how many people use it. In the UK it is free for one user and up to 30 jobs, then £25 a month for 50 jobs, £59 for 150, £119 for 500 and £269 for 1,500, with unlimited users on every paid plan. Prices exclude VAT. There is no lock-in contract, and the 14-day trial does not need a card.
Every figure here was read from ServiceM8's own pricing page on 2026-10-19. We sell Gafferly, a competing product, so we only use the vendor's own published figures. How we compare products.
ServiceM8's published prices
| Plan | Per month | Jobs a month | Users |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | £0 | Up to 30 | 1 |
| Starter | £25 | Up to 50 | Unlimited |
| Growing | £59 | Up to 150 | Unlimited |
| Premium | £119 | Up to 500 | Unlimited |
| Premium Plus | £269 | Up to 1,500 | Unlimited |
Text messages beyond the plan allowance are 5p each, per the same page.
Trial, contract and VAT
| Free trial | 14 daysNo card needed |
|---|---|
| Contract | No lock-in contracts.“There are no lock-ins with ServiceM8's pricing.” |
| VAT | VAT is added on top of the listed price. |
Entry tier, list prices excluding VAT, assuming 30 jobs per person per month. Gafferly shown for reference.
- ServiceM8
- Gafferly
Show the numbers behind this chart
| Monthly cost | 1 user | 3 users | 5 users | 10 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 | £0 | £59 | £59 | £119 |
| Gafferly | £29 | £87 | £145 | £290 |
Entry tier for each product. ServiceM8 is priced by jobs per month rather than by seat, so its figure depends on volume rather than headcount. Higher tiers cost more on both products.
Source: ServiceM8's pricing page. Checked 2026-10-19.
What the pricing means in practice
Headcount does not move the bill
Add an apprentice, an office manager and a bookkeeper and the price stays the same. That makes ServiceM8 hard to beat for a bigger team on steady work. On our own comparison, a ten-person firm doing around 300 jobs a month pays £119, where per-user products run to several hundred pounds.
Job volume does
The bill steps up when you cross 50, 150, 500 and 1,500 jobs in a month. A busy winter for a heating firm can push you up a tier, so look at your peak months, not your average.
Add VAT to the sum
ServiceM8's page says its prices do not include VAT. If your business is VAT registered you reclaim it and nothing changes. If you are not, the £59 plan costs £70.80 a month.
Texts beyond the allowance are 5p
Each plan includes a text allowance, and messages beyond it are 5p each according to the same page. That is cheaper per text than most of the category.
Check before you sign
- Your busiest month's job count, not your average, because that sets your tier.
- VAT, which is added on top.
- Whether you issue UK certificates. CP12 and EICR are not named on ServiceM8's feature or tour pages, so you would build them yourself as forms.
- QuickBooks or Xero. ServiceM8 connects to both.
ServiceM8 is good value if
- You have more than about four people who need to log in
- Your job volume is steady and predictable
- You are a sole trader doing under 30 jobs a month, where the free plan costs nothing
- You do not issue gas or electrical certificates
How it compares with other UK job management apps
Entry-tier list price for every product that publishes a price in pounds, cheapest first at five users. Excluding VAT, at 30 jobs per person per month.
| Product | 1 user | 5 users | VAT |
|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 | £0 | £59 | VAT is added on top of the listed price. |
| YourTradebase | £29 | £89 | VAT is added on top of the listed price. |
| Gas Engineer Software | £19 | £95 | VAT is added on top of the listed price. |
| Eworks Manager | £130 | £130 | VAT is added on top of the listed price. |
| Gafferly | £29 | £145 | No VAT added. Gafferly Group Ltd is not currently VAT registered. |
| Workever | £29 | £145 | Not stated on the pricing page. |
| Powered Now | £28 | £160 | VAT is added on top of the listed price. |
| Tradify | £34 | £170 | Not stated on the pricing page. |
| Joblogic | £49 | £245 | Not stated on the pricing page. |
Every vendor's pricing, with sources · ServiceM8 alternative for UK trades
What Gafferly costs, for comparison
Solo £29, Crew £49 and Fleet £79 per user per month. Month to month, or annual for the price of ten months. No VAT added, no setup fee, and CP12 and EICR certificates on every plan. The 30-day trial needs a card.
Common questions
Is ServiceM8 free?
There is a free plan for one user and up to 30 jobs a month, listed on ServiceM8's UK pricing page. Above 30 jobs, or with a second user, you move to a paid plan starting at £25 a month for 50 jobs.
Does ServiceM8 charge per user?
No. ServiceM8 charges by jobs completed per month and includes unlimited users on every paid plan. That is the main reason it often works out cheaper than per-user products for teams of five or more.
Do ServiceM8 prices include VAT?
No. ServiceM8's UK pricing page states that prices do not include VAT, so a business that is not VAT registered pays 20% on top of the listed price.
Does ServiceM8 have a contract?
No. Its pricing page says there are no lock-ins. The 14-day trial does not need a card, and you only give payment details if you decide to subscribe.
Is Gafferly cheaper than ServiceM8?
For one or two people, roughly the same. For bigger teams, usually not: ServiceM8's unlimited users make it cheaper once you are past about four people on steady volume. Gafferly's case against ServiceM8 is built-in CP12 and EICR certificates, a 30-day trial and no VAT added, not price.