Compare

Looking for a Powered Now alternative?

These two are the closest like-for-like on this site: both UK-built, both priced per user, both rolling monthly with no contract. For a sole trader, Powered Now's one-user Business plan is £28 plus VAT, so £33.60 if you cannot reclaim it, against £29 for Gafferly with no VAT added. For a team, Powered Now starts at £32 per user on Professional, which is also the plan that adds its certificates, custom forms and unlimited texts. If you are VAT registered, send a lot of texts or want a trial without a card, Powered Now is a strong choice.

Prices and features below come from Powered Now's own public pages, checked 2026-10-19. How we compare products.

Gafferly and Powered Now: monthly cost by team size

Entry tier, list prices excluding VAT, assuming 30 jobs per person per month.

£0£88£175£263£350£29£281 user£87£963 users£145£1605 users£290£32010 usersMonthly cost
  • Gafferly
  • Powered Now
Show the numbers behind this chart
Gafferly and Powered Now: monthly cost by team size
Monthly cost1 user3 users5 users10 users
Gafferly£29£87£145£290
Powered Now£28£96£160£320

Entry tier for each product. Feature differences between tiers are a separate question, covered in the table below.

Source: Powered Now's pricing page. Checked 2026-10-19.

Feature by feature

Checked against each vendor's own feature and documentation pages. Where a vendor advertises a capability without naming it specifically, this table says "not stated" rather than guessing.

FeatureGafferlyPowered Now
CP12 gas safety recordsYesNot statedCertificates covering gas are listed on Professional and Premium, but the gas safety record or CP12 is not named.
EICR certificatesYesYesNamed on the pricing page, on the Professional plan and above.
Custom forms and checklistsYesBuild your own forms and checklists in the form builder.YesProfessional plan and above.
InvoicingYesYes
Xero syncYesCrew plan and above.YesAlso QuickBooks.
Card paymentsYesYesThrough SumUp.
Payments to your own merchant accountYesYou connect your own Stripe account, so the money lands in your bank.NoOnline payments run through SumUp rather than your own merchant account.
See where the team isYesFrom the engineer's phone. No tracker is fitted to the van.YesStaff location tracking.
Free trial30 daysCard required14 daysNo card needed
VATNo VAT added. Gafferly Group Ltd is not currently VAT registered.VAT is added on top of the listed price.

Sources: gafferly.com/features and powerednow.com/pricing. Checked 2026-10-19.

Where Powered Now is the better buy

Cheaper for a VAT-registered sole trader

£28 against £29 for one user, and if you reclaim VAT then £28 is what it costs you. The catch is that the Business plan leaves out certificates and custom forms, which start on Professional at £32.

Unlimited texts on Professional

Powered Now's Professional plan lists unlimited text and email from the app. Gafferly includes 50 texts per user a month, then 7p each, so a firm that texts a lot will find Powered Now's bundle better value.

You can try it without handing over a card

Every Powered Now plan starts with a 14-day trial and no card. Gafferly's trial asks for one, which is a genuine friction point and a fair reason to start with them instead.

QuickBooks as well as Xero

Powered Now lists both. Gafferly syncs with Xero only, on the Crew plan and above.

Where Gafferly is the better buy

No VAT on top

Powered Now adds VAT at checkout, so £32 per user on Professional is £38.40 if you cannot reclaim it. Gafferly adds nothing, so £29 is £29. It is also temporary: if Gafferly crosses the VAT registration threshold, VAT gets added like everyone else.

Certificates on the entry plan

CP12 and EICR come on every Gafferly plan, including Solo at £29. Powered Now's certificates start on Professional at £32. Its pricing page names EICR and certificates covering gas, but not the gas safety record or CP12 by name, so ask if that is the one you issue most.

Payments to your own Stripe account

Powered Now takes online payments through SumUp. Gafferly connects your own Stripe account, so the money goes to your bank and the relationship is yours.

Thirty days rather than fourteen

A fortnight rarely covers a full quote-to-payment cycle. A month usually does.

Choose Powered Now if

  • You are a VAT-registered sole trader who does not issue certificates
  • You send a lot of texts and want them bundled in
  • You want to trial software without entering card details
  • Your accounts run on QuickBooks
Visit Powered Now

Choose Gafferly if

  • You are not VAT registered and cannot reclaim it
  • You want CP12 and EICR on the entry plan
  • You want card payments landing in your own Stripe account
  • You want a full month to test it
Start a 30-day trial

Common questions

Is Powered Now cheaper than Gafferly?

For one user, by £1 on list price: £28 against £29. Powered Now's prices exclude VAT, so a firm that cannot reclaim it pays £33.60. For a team, Powered Now starts at £32 per user on Professional, the plan with certificates and custom forms, which is £38.40 with VAT. Gafferly is £29 per user on Solo or £49 on Crew, with no VAT added. Prices as at 19 October 2026.

Does Powered Now do CP12 and EICR?

Its pricing page lists trade-specific certificates covering gas, electrical and EICR on the Professional and Premium plans, as at 19 October 2026. It does not name the gas safety record or CP12 specifically, and the one-user Business plan does not include certificates.

Does Powered Now have a contract?

No. Its pricing page says every plan is a rolling subscription with no minimum term and no cancellation fee. Annual billing gives two months free.