Looking for a Commusoft alternative?
Commusoft says it is designed for businesses with six or more staff, and it publishes no prices, so for a smaller firm the honest answer is that you are probably looking at the wrong end of the market rather than the wrong product. Gafferly publishes its prices, £29, £49 or £79 per user per month with no VAT added, runs month to month, and ships CP12 and EICR certificates on every plan. If you already have an office team of six or more and want a system configured around them, Commusoft is built for exactly that.
Prices and features below come from Commusoft's own public pages, checked 2026-10-19. How we compare products.
Price
Commusoft
No prices are published. The plans page lists three tier names and asks for a demo booking.
Gafferly
Solo £29, Crew £49 and Fleet £79 per user per month, in pounds, with no VAT added and no setup fee.
Source: Commusoft's pricing page, checked 2026-10-19.
Feature by feature
Checked against each vendor's own feature and documentation pages. Where a vendor advertises a capability without naming it specifically, this table says "not stated" rather than guessing.
| Feature | Gafferly | Commusoft |
|---|---|---|
| CP12 gas safety records | Yes | Not statedNo gas certificate is named on the feature pages we checked, only a builder for "any specific compliance or regulatory form". |
| EICR certificates | Yes | Not statedNo electrical certificate is named on the feature pages we checked. |
| Custom forms and checklists | YesBuild your own forms and checklists in the form builder. | YesUnlimited custom forms in a form builder. |
| Quotes signed on the customer's phone | Yes | YesQuotes accepted online turn into jobs. Signatures are captured in the mobile app. |
| Xero sync | YesCrew plan and above. | YesAlso QuickBooks Online, Sage Accounting and FreeAgent. |
| Card payments | Yes | YesThrough Stripe, including on site from the mobile app. |
| Payments to your own merchant account | YesYou connect your own Stripe account, so the money lands in your bank. | Not statedStripe is named, but not whose account receives the money. |
| See where the team is | YesFrom the engineer's phone. No tracker is fitted to the van. | YesLive vehicle tracking with every technician on one map. |
| Free trial | 30 daysCard required | Offered, length not published |
| VAT | No VAT added. Gafferly Group Ltd is not currently VAT registered. | Not stated. |
Sources: gafferly.com/features and www.commusoft.com/en-gb/features/. Checked 2026-10-19.
Where Commusoft is the better buy
Built around an office team
Commusoft's plans, Go Paperless, Customer Journey and Automation, are aimed at established firms with dispatchers and office staff. If that is you, a system designed around that shape will fit better than one designed for a firm where the owner is also on the tools.
More accounting packages
Commusoft lists QuickBooks Online, Sage Accounting, Xero and FreeAgent. Gafferly syncs with Xero only, on the Crew plan and above.
A year's price certainty, if you want it
Commusoft's contracted licences lock in your price for 12 months. Monthly rolling licences are offered too. If budget certainty matters more to you than the freedom to leave, the contracted option gives you that.
Where Gafferly is the better buy
Prices you can see
Every Gafferly plan has a price on the pricing page. Commusoft publishes none, so you cannot compare it with anything until after a demo.
Made for firms of one to fifteen vans
Including sole traders and teams under six, which Commusoft says it is not designed for. Every plan works for a single user.
CP12 and EICR built in
Gas safety records and EICRs come ready-made on every plan. We could not find either named on Commusoft's feature pages, which describe a form builder for compliance forms rather than a supplied certificate.
Start today without a sales call
Sign up, set up and run real jobs through it for 30 days. The trial needs a card. Commusoft's plans page routes you to a demo and does not say how long its trial lasts.
Choose Commusoft if
- You have six or more staff with a dedicated office
- Your accounts run on QuickBooks, Sage or FreeAgent
- You want your price fixed for a year
- You would rather be shown round and set up by the vendor
Choose Gafferly if
- You have fewer than six people
- You want a price before speaking to anyone
- You issue CP12s or EICRs and want them ready-made
- You want to pay monthly and cancel any time
Common questions
How much does Commusoft cost?
Commusoft does not publish prices. As at 19 October 2026 its UK plans page lists three plans, Go Paperless, Customer Journey and Automation, and asks you to book a demo. Contracted licences run for 12 months and monthly rolling licences are also offered.
Is Commusoft suitable for small businesses?
Commusoft states that it is specifically designed for businesses with six or more staff. If you are smaller than that, the vendor is telling you it is aimed at someone else.
Does Gafferly do everything Commusoft does?
No, and it does not try to. Commusoft connects to more accounting packages and is designed around larger office teams. Gafferly covers the day-to-day of a smaller firm: enquiries, quotes signed on the customer's phone, the diary, jobs completed on site, invoicing with card payments, service contracts, stock, CP12 and EICR certificates and a customer portal.